MAXIZ – My first DSLR kit – final questions needing help! – Canon EOS 1100D – 300D

biggles267 wrote:

Hello, I am a Canon S3 owner living overseas in a remote area who is buying his first DSLR. I have done the research (thanks for your help), and will be getting a T1i. I’ve listed the items below I know I’m getting for sure, which covers the main items in the kit, but then there are some items which I’m still not sure about, if you can give me some advice. I need to order online in the next couple of days in time to catch a handcarry to me.

Definitely getting:

  • T1i (500D) with 18-55 kit lens as one package
  • Canon 55-250mm lens
  • Canon 50mm 1.8 II prime lens
  • Hoya 58mm Circular Polarized Filter (to use with either of the 18-55 or 55-250 lenses)
  • 2 x Hoya 58mm UV Multi Coated Glass Filters (to keep permanently on the 18-55 and 55-250 lenses)
  • Hoya 52mm UV Multi Coated Glass Filter (to keep permanently on the 50mm lens)
  • 2 x Transcend 8 GB SDHC Class 6 Flash Memory Card (one is a spare)

Total so far: about $1320 plus shipping

good start. Uv filters I would skip and go with just a plastic collapsible 5 dollar hood off of ebay.

Needing help:

1. Lens hood: I don’t know much about them, and I can’t seem to find out for sure if the camera or lenses above come with one. I don’t think they do. Can you recommend a lens hood for my main 58mm lenses, and confirm I don’t need a 52mm lens hood for the 50mm lens?

see above

2. Lens caps: ditto I can’t be sure if they come with the lenses or not, should I buy a 52 and 58mm version of them?

as mentioned, comes with lens.

3. Spare Battery: should I buy the Canon brand or the no name brand which is $40 less? I’ve been reading about the heat warning that can come on with this camera. I was wondering if a cheap battery might get hotter and that could affect the likelihood of the heat warning?

generic. I like sterlingtek.

4. Sensor cleaning kit: do I need one, and if so, which one, I haven’t even started researching that.

No, you dont. As other poster mentioned consider rocket blower. You can do much more harm than good if you dont know what you are doing.

5. UV filter/lens cleaning kit: Ditto #4 above.

I have pec pads that I used very occasionaly for lens cleaning. the rocket blower is your friend for lens cleaning also.

6. LCD protector : There is one that seems to be popular on amazon, it’s a pack of 3 for $5. Do you recommend using it? "3pcs Ikross Premium Ultra Clear Reusable 3.0" / 3.0-inch Digital Camera LCD Screen Protector with Lint Cleaning Cloth for Canon Digital SLR EOS Rebel T1i"

Um, thats a personal choice.

7. Do I need a 52mm CIR filter for the 50mm lens or probably not since it is my low light lens?

You lost me there.

8. International warranty: Can you recommend a major online store who will give me an international warranty rather than a domestic one? I did most of my research on amazon so would like to use them, but I don’t think they offer special warranty options.

warranties are generally over priced and a waste.

9. Macro lens: I decided at the last minute that I would like macro, since the super macro 0cm on my S3 is really fun and has taken some great photos. I don’t have the money for a special macro lens, and I’m not looking forward to swapping lenses with a DSLR. So I thought the best option might be an option I heard of where you screw something onto the front of your existing lens which turns it into a macro. Is this a good option – is it easy to use with good results? If so, which one would you recommend for using with one of the lenses above? Or can I get good enough macro with the lenses I am already getting above?

You can reverse your 50 1.8 on your 18-55. You need to buy a 58-522 macro reverse ring (search ebay, less than 10 bucks) with both male threads. You will get excellent results at 1:1 macro. Your working distance will be very short (you have to be very close to subject to focus, maybe 2 inches) but its doable.

Other notes: Re tripod, I already have one. Re flash, I am aiming to mostly take photos without flash when indoors, that is one of the points of going DSLR, so I don’t think I need an external flash in this initial kit. Re camera bag, I already have a Lowepro Nova Mini AW, which I am hoping will fit the Ti1 kit OK. Although I might decide to include a new bag at the last minute.

have a decent tripod and dont be afraid to use it. I hope you change your mind regarding flash. A flash, used properly, will open many doors to you, and is essential for many types of photography, and better control of light.

THANKS HEAPS FOR YOUR ADVICE!!! (This is a thank you shout, not an angry one emoticon - smile I’m trying to get my purchase right because there are no camera stores within a thousand miles from here.)

You are welcome.

http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/read.asp?forum=1031&message=33089759

URL:

Leave a Reply

